Jmo’s First Book Spotlight: Gloria Clover’s Children of the King

I am going to try something new this year. A monthly book spotlight. What does this mean exactly? Well, it’s not a book review. I’m not big on reviewing books. Either I like a book or I don’t. Sure, I have my opinions on books, but I’ve always been told if you have nothing nice to say, don’t say anything. No, my monthly book spotlight will showcase books that I have absolutely fallen in love with. It also means some months I might not spotlight anything. The theory behind this is if a book excites me enough to talk about it, I want my friends to know how great a read it is. If a book doesn’t, I’m not going to waste either one of our time talking about it. I might be an author, but I am first and foremost a reader. That’s kinda why I write.

To kick this thing off, I’m going to cheat a bit. The book that has me all a twitter this month is the third book in a series. After the first book, I just sat back and said wow! Book two hit me the same way, and by the time I went to bed with a headache from over reading during a short period, I just went, how come I can’t write like that.

The Children of the King series is just an amazing read. I know a lot of people will say I don’t read Inspirational Romance. I didn’t either, then a couple friends introduced me to the genre through their writing. That said. I’m addicted to Children of the King! It fits my three requirements for a great read. It holds my interest. I absolutely can’t wait to pick up my Kindle and I hate putting it down until I finish. CotK is also, Science Fiction, Fantasy, Romance and Inspirational. Count those. That’s four genres excellently wrapped into one tidy book, or three books in this case. With more to come!

Gloria Clover is one, of those amazing authors, who writes so smoothly, you just know she has as much fun writing it, as you do reading it. Her characters are so real that it’s like reading about someone you know. The plot is well developed and flows seamlessly, never once giving a hiccup along the way. The tension between her hero and heroine is spot on, and never once clichéd. I will gladly admit, on more than one occasion, she has made me weep. Gloria is just that good. From the Frozen Depths is just as strong a book as her first novel in the series, Washed Under the Waves. As a series writer myself, I can tell you how hard it is to keep the writing fresh when you’re working in the confines of a serial effort.

I’m not one to give spoilers, so I won’t. I’m going to let the blurb do my talking for me. Before I do that, I want to say one simple fact. If you are not reading Gloria Clover, you are missing a rare treat. Nuff said!

Image

Children of the King

Book Three

From the Frozen Depths

Blurb

A Devoted Princess

Padar Lacer receives a chilly reception on the island of Dharani, her new home and mission field. What was the King thinking to send her out in winter to a people frozen in their beliefs of caste and karma? Finding the island in the midst of civil war and its people being destroyed with a freeze ray weapon, Padar agrees to participate in a shocking act of healing.

A Determined Commander

Jym Fountayn wants to stop the war at all costs, even using a foreign princess to further his cause. After all, he warned her from the beginning that he was no prince.

The Ultimate King

Padar’s talk of a King who rules the universe, who can thaw hearts and shatter frozen thinking, ignites the entire island. Suddenly Jym wishes he was the chosen prince and not just a warrior destined to kill or be killed.

Well, that’s all from my very first Book Spotlight on the Giggles. Here’s hoping, it’s not the last. I want what everyone wants for this new year. A year full of truly amazing reads! For those of you intrigued by Gloria Clover’s work, here is the link to her Desert Breeze Author Page. You can also pick her books up from a host of places where ebooks are sold, including Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and iBooks.

http://www.desertbreezepublishing.com/brands/Gloria-Clover.html

3 thoughts on “Jmo’s First Book Spotlight: Gloria Clover’s Children of the King

  1. I love the idea of you sharing the titles of books you enjoy reading. This series does sound interesting, especially since you’ve expanded my reading library with new characters and challenges for me to read. 🙂

  2. Linda Turner says:

    Agree–Children of the King serious is a great read!

Leave a Reply

